To VPC or not to VPC (Full Serverless Product)

Hello there,

I work for a big company as a software Architect and unfortunately, I am not an expert on infrastructure, so I would like to hear from you guys what your opinions are on this :slight_smile:, please.

We are working on a greenfield PRODUCT which is following the SERVERLESS FIRST approach. So far the AWS services we are using (or considering to use):

• API Gateway (REST) - for external APIs (inbound)

• Lambda - for compute

• DynamoDB - for OLTP data

• SQS/SNS - for messaging (EventBridge is too new yet)

• Cloud Map - To work as our service discovery and also to eliminate the need for an ELB

• HSM - for security

• WAF Advanced - Firewall

• Cognito Advanced - For credentials (This service might be shared in the future with other products within the company)

• Route53 - For multi-region availability

• S3 - For file storage and the initial “Data Lake”

• AWS CI/CD stack - Path to Production

• IAM - Governance and access control

• VPN (Whitelist, 2way SSL, etc) - We might need some end to end VPN to connect our external partners which offer APIs which we rely on (they might or might not be running on AWS).

The architecture follows:

• Microservice Architecture (DDD and NO synchronous inter-services communication, to reduce the dependency between them);

• Event-driven (Messages for internal use and Webhooks to clients and external services);

• Cloud Native;

• Security is a key factor for this solution as it will provide financial services to our customers and will be under strong regulation and compliance;

• Reduce the operation overhead as much as possible (The closer to “NoOps”, the better).

• Be able to be plug-in other external systems (partners) through APIs (Whitelist their IPs?)

• High available

• Low infrastructure cost

I have been reading that in a true serverless architecture (at least on AWS) a VPC won’t buy me anything but more complexity.