Monorepo organization: Single serverless file or 1 per lambda?

Hi there.
I’m new to serverless, serverless framework and AWS too, so I’m sorry if something isn’t clear.

I was building a service on AWS in a monorepo (node.js + lerna) with some lambdas and I’m reading all around the web people organizing their projects and serverless files in different ways, but I haven’t figured out which would be the best way to do so (at least for my case).

I’m creating a series of lambdas (let’s say 2) and an API Gateway to serve some end points.
I have a couple of shared resources: a DynamoDB and an SQS queue to invoke one of the two lambdas.
All of this is made with a monorepo (node.js) and a series of packages, some of which are shared among the lambdas and some of which aren’t.
I’m now seeing two possible ways to organize the serverless configuration, both of which have their downsides:

1. Every lambda has it’s own serverless.yml file. Maybe there are some shared yaml file to avoid duplicating some configurations.

Example:

PROS:

• Faster deployment (I can deploy a single lambda whenever I want)
  • I can easily run serverless-offline and serverless-offline-sqs plugins in the related lambdas, and debug with them.

CONS:

• I don’t have a single CloudFormation stack, but everything is disconnected from the rest… leading to possible inconsistencies.
  • I still have to duplicate the usage of those configurations inside the serverless files

1. Have a common serverless.yml file in the root folder. This common serverless is the one used to deploy. Other yaml files can be used for configurations and/or for declaring the function specification. They are all referenced in the common serverless file.

Example:

PROS:

• Single CloudFormation stack.
  • Very easy to read serverless file too: all my stack is in that same serverless file. I don’t have to duplicate the root definition of the serverless file for every lambda.