Duplicate Lambda

I’m fairly new to AWS and serverless in general so trying to get a feel for how it all works and how best to structure my project.

I followed this example layout for using a single lambda function for all CRUD operations with the serverless.yaml using the same file but different method. https://github.com/pmuens/serverless-crud

I assumed this would create 4 API paths all pointing to the single lambda function which I figured is good for reducing cold starts and simplifying my code layout. However, it created 4 duplicate lambda functions with different names.

I am just wondering if this is expected behaviour or if I have done something wrong?

just to add to this, as another test I changed the layout of my project to be the following to try to separate out the logic into individual lambda functions
itemsendpoint
----|–functions
--------|–getAll
------------|–handler.js (containing just the code to get all items)
--------|–getSingle
------------|–handler.js (containing just the code to get single item)
----|–templates (folder containing relevant vtl templates)
----|–serverless.yml

My serverless.yml references the handler like handler: functions/getAll/handler.listAll

But now the lambdas are still duplicated and both contain the entire functions folder and the templates folder.

Have I got a fundamental misunderstanding here or doing something silly?

Latest update. Using a SAM template you can specify the path of the code for your lambda function using the CodeUri entry in your yaml file but it doesn’t appear that this is supported in the serverless framework.

I like the simplicity of the serverless framework but not having control of things like this is pushing me back towards using SAM.

PostPetFunction:
Type: AWS::Serverless::Function
Properties:
  FunctionName: PostPetFunction
  Runtime: python3.6
  Handler: function.handler
  CodeUri: ./lambda/postPet/
  Events:
    PostPetApi:
      Type: Api
      Properties: