Upload image file to S3 via api

Hi, I want to upload the jpg image to S3 bucket via api (image in post body). Is there anyone guide me how to do that? Thanks

There are few options to achieve this:

1. Create a API endpoint as S3 proxy, so then you can give users ability to save file directly to S3
    Create an API as an Amazon S3 Proxy
  2. You send request to API gateway with lambda proxy and lambda returns the signedUrl to save file on S3, then using temporary credential you upload file to S3
  3. You send binary file to API endpoint and then just using lambda save to s3 (To do this you have to enable binary content types)
2 Likes

Hi Dawid, I tried no 2 but it is not working (is the same as an example that show in serverless framework github). For 1, it is a little bit to understand for me as I am new to AWS and serverless framework ecosystem. I want to and I am trying to do in third way but there is some problem. I can successfully upload the text file. For binary file(jpeg), it is not showing properly (just blank image) when I open the file in s3. Then what is “you have to enable binary content type”. I believe it meant to add (ContentType: “image/jpg”) along with bucket, key, body inside s3’s putObject function. If so, I already did. Do I need to add secret key and other credential info inside the code.
Many thanks,
Kind Regards,
John

You can checkout out this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BrYJlR0yRnw&t=83s

Have in mind that with the 3rd option your actual file size can be more less 4.5MB ( maximum size of lambda function request is around 6MB and you also have to count headers etc.). The body in lmabda will be base64 encoded, so when you call putObject on s3 bucket you actually have to do this:

import * as AWS from 'aws-sdk';

let s3 = new AWS.S3()
let buffer = Buffer.from(event.body, 'base64');  

let putObject = promisify(s3.putObject, s3) 

await putObject({
  Body: buffer,
  Bucket: 'YOUR_BUCKET_NAME',
  Key: 'FILE_NAME'