Real world example

Hi all,

Does anyone have a real-world example using node and serverless v1 I could look at?
A couple of things still confuse me:

• What is a good folder structure for a serverless project with multiple functions grouped in multiple files (in the example of a blog I would have one file for CRUD endpoints for posts, another for comments, etc…)
  • How to use external node modules? Where do they need to be for Lambda to find them
  • How to use custom libraries/modules with serverless/lambda. I’d like to keep my “functions” files as lean as possible and have all the logic in “lib” files to make them easier to test.

I’m still new to node, lambda and serverless, and I’m having a hard time figuring this out by myself.

Thanks

3 Likes

ok, I just found out that the reason point 2 and 3 were not working for me was because of a bug in the packaging plugin when using serverless on Windows. A pull request fixing this has been merged today and it now seems to work if I duplicate the changes on my side.

It would be great to have some samples of recommended directory structure as requested in #1. I have the same question as a newcomer to serverless. The sample template is just a bit too simple.

OK. I found one that is close to what I was looking for.
https://github.com/zanon-io/aws-serverless-demo

It is for v0.5, though. I’d love to see what the current thinking is in the context of v1.

1 Like

agreed with points above. I’m a serverless noob and I can make one service work as the docs have walked me through. I think that simple example was needed as I tried to get into serverless 0.5 and it was too confusing. Now at least I have my foot in the door and I understand a bit of what is happening here. However, moving forward I could use a ‘pet store’ example to show me best practices for building out a bigger solution.