Is there a plan to support AWS IoT?

Hi,

We are planning to build an device management system using all serverless services from AWS. This will include API Gateway, Lambda, DynamoDB and IoT. Please excuse me if this is a dumb question, but I have found support for everything except the IoT service. Is there any plans to support this and if not, does anyone have recommendations on how I could add the support.

The Serverless framework support IoT via CloudFormation. I’ve created a project similar to yours (see AWS IoT with the Serverless Framework | by John McKim | Serverless Zone). The only change you need to make is to update the variabelSyntax in serverless.yml to allow you to use the IoT SQL functions.

1 Like

Thank you, that is very helpful

Hi John,

thanks for all your posts on Garden Aid.

A question as I’m new to AWS, AWS IoT and Serverless, do you have any instructions on how to deploy all of the different services on AWS.

For instance, for GitHub - garden-aid/iot-hub: IoT Hub for Garden Aid, I can see there is a deploy.sh but it show “Error: Please set IOPIPE_KEY env var” and for “sls deploy” I get the below error complaining about the function clientId().
If I hard code the clientId, the sls deploy works up to a point when a "Fn::GetAtt reference Undefined is shown as in the below screenshot

It would be really helpful if you could point out how to resolve this issue and allow me to deploy the IoT service onto AWS.

Thanks in advance,
Ettore.

Serverless Error ---------------------------------------

Invalid variable reference syntax for variable clientId().
 You can only reference env vars, options, & files. You
 can check our docs for more info.

Hi, IOPipe is a separate service I tried for this project. I like the service but using it is completely option in your own projects.