How are you using CI/CD?

I’m starting a project using Serverless and i need some guidance in how to have CI/CD

i’d rather spend a few hours setting it up from the start than integrating automated test deploys along the way.

few considerations: the project its for the company so it has to be in a private repo
i have never used a CI before but i have experience with TDD and testing frameworks
i’d like to start with a free option but a paid option in the future could be possible.

i’d love to hear from you guys how are you automating your test/deploys cycles.

1 Like

I’ve never created a CD pipeline for a Serverless project, but I have done plenty of them for RoR projects and one for a .Net project. Having a private repo shouldn’t be a problem and you shouldn’t have to pay for anything except hosting costs.

I suggest you go with TeamCity for your deployment pipeline since it’s free up to 25 projects and Bitbucket offers free private repo hosting. TeamCity, like most other CD platforms, allows you to break up your pipeline into build steps.

Usually, Step 1 would be building the project. For a Serverless project that means running npm install. The second step might be to run your tests, so npm test. And the third step might be to deploy the code to whatever your staging environment is, like dev or alpha.

TeamCity also allows you to create sub projects, which I used to separate my different environments. This isn’t the only way to separate environments, but it’s the way I chose. So you can set your staging environment to automatically pull down, build and test your changes everytime you push up code chages, but then have production only run when you log into TeamCity and actually click the Build Now button. You can also have production only run once you tag a release or if you merge in changes to a branch named production. It all depends on what works best for you.