Database connection limit

Hi, I’m new to serverless
I’m using Netlify Serverless Functions(which uses AWS Lambda) and my database is MongoDB. I was using Heroku express server until I was getting a lot of traffic and things are very slow so I tried to switch to serverless.
I have over 8500 users and my app gives users alerts for restocks. So regularly there isn’t as many traffic but during restock time, it spikes a lot. Some users still use the app version that uses Heroku, some use the new version that use serverless
My issue is that I have cached my connection (code attached, it seems to reuse sometimes based on the logs) but I’m still reaching MongoDB limit of 500 connections (it’s a free database tier). Without high-traffic hours, the connections vary between 250-450 connections but it doesn’t go back to lower than 100. I understand I have people sign up and use the app as well but I wonder if this is a normal behavior. Netlify Serverless function told me yesterday I had over 70,000 requests. I was surprised because of that.
So I guess my question is

• Is serverless still the right choice if I have a small budget. I’m just a dev and I paid everything out of my pocket. I’ve attempted to upgrade MongoDB to the next tier which allows 1500 max connections but I still don’t know if my code is right/if I’m doing anything wrong that makes it end up being 500 connections. and will 1500 is enough for thousands of users.

Connection code

const mongoose = require("mongoose");

let cachedMongooseDb = null;
async function connectToDB() {
   const uri =
     process.env.NODE_ENV === "production"
      ? `mongodb+srv://${process.env.name}:${process.env.pw}@<dbname>/<collection>?retryWrites=true&w=majority&maxIdleTimeMS=300000`
       : "mongodb://127.0.0.1:27017/squishmallows?maxIdleTimeMS=300000";

if (cachedMongooseDb && cachedMongooseDb._readyState === 1) {
    console.log("db cached");
    return cachedMongooseDb;
  } else {
    console.log("----db NOT cached");