Serverless command line: status line keeps scrolling

I am new to serverless.

I run the command line (CLI) from my Ubuntu 20.04 desktop (using standard Konsole terminal). When I run commands, like “serverless deploy”, the status line keeps scrolling. It fills my terminal with hundreds of lines like:

⠙ Updating CloudFormation stack (9/10) (113s)

⠇ Retrieving CloudFormation stack (120s)

⠏ Updating (121s)

This is obviously a problem with my control/escape characters settings/processing. However, I could find no documentation on:

• how to troubleshoot it
  • which settings to set/change to fix it
  • how to possibly suppress the status line updates
  • if other people had similar problem (and how they fixed it)

For the record, all my TERM apps/prompts work fine (for example, docker). Even running “serverless” command in an empty directory presents all prompts, including text menu navigation correctly.

My TERM variables/settings:
COLORTERM=truecolor
TERM=xterm-256color

I appreciate any advice/links.

dudlo

1 Like

Yup, we’re having similar issues with our CI logs being filled up with

⠏ Updating CloudFormation stack (2/12) (109s)

I can’t find any settings to disable this.

As a quick work around, using cat is a way to suppress the loading animation, progress indicator, event emitter or whatever you want to call it.

i.e.

$ serverless deploy | cat
1 Like

Same here, did nobody open a bug already ?

I actually do not think this is a bug/defect. The code works, it is just annoying that the progress dumps hundreds of lines into output. It is something serverless support could/should help fix and make the usage more enjoyable.

I realized I may not have explained/documented the symptoms fully. Here is sample output (showing 8 lines of several hundreds):

⠙ Creating CloudFormation stack (15s)

⠹ Creating CloudFormation stack (15s)

⠹ Creating CloudFormation stack (15s)

⠸ Creating CloudFormation stack (15s)

⠼ Creating CloudFormation stack (15s)