Dynamodb, Graphql (server), Authorization and Permissions - how to get it right?

I’m new to Serverless/AWS and will appreciate some advice about pros/cons of storing “users” data in Dynamodb vs. AWS Cognito and about handling security/permissions properly.

AFAIK, we can define a DynamoDB table in serverless.yaml or in our lambda function code and libs like Dynamoose or Dynogels can help with Models/Schema and queries.

Or we can also create Dynamodb tables via AWS UI and store our users data in AWS Cognito tables.

Say, I want to query several tables (and access few users’ info) and return a composite Graphql response via single API endpoint for all queries and mutations (thus, making less requests for data, e.g. users + posts + comments + votes…). So…

1. How can/should lambda code access a Cognito table to get a list of relevant Users (i.e. names, uuids etc.)?
  2. Pros/Cons of storing User-related data (passwords, settings) in Cognito vs. custom Users Table?
  3. How to handle per document permissions properly?

Particularly I’m working on a social/forum app that will:

• let users create profiles and make posts and comments and follow some posts, tags, other users’s activity.
  • let users edit only their own content/settings (but admins/moderators can edit for other users)
  • let users search and filter through posts.

2 Likes
  1. Using the Cognito API https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSJavaScriptSDK/latest/AWS/CognitoIdentity.html. When fronted by ApiGateway, the cognito authorizer will provide you a lot of this information right in the request payload
  2. You should use Cognito probably. You get ‘free’ user federation with openID providers
  3. Once you use cognito, you can use DynamoDB item permissions https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amazondynamodb/latest/developerguide/specifying-conditions.html
1 Like